I don’t like Mondays

With apologies to Bob Geldof, here’s my tweaking of the Boomtown Rats’ one hit wonder, inspired by the dwindling tree-falling-in-a-forest interest levels of the Carlton v St Kilda match on Monday night.

The silicon chip inside our heads
Gets switched to overload
And nobody’s gonna go to footy tonight
They’re making us want to stay at home
And Andy never understood it
He always said it was good as gold
And he can see no reasons
‘Cos there are no reasons
What reason do you need to be show-ow-ow-ow-own?

Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
I wanna shoo-oo-woo-woo-woo-oot the whole night down

The spin machine is kept so clean
And it tweets to a waiting world
Fans who’ve been ain’t that peachy keen
Now that ain’t so neat to admit defeat
They can see no reasons
‘Cuz there are no reasons
What reasons do you need?
Oh Oh oh whoa whoa

Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
I wanna shoo-oo-oo-woo-woo-oot
The whole night down, down, down, shoot it all down

And all the playing’s stopped at the footy ground now
They want to watch other sports a while
And the draw’s out early and soon we’ll be yearning
But the challenge today is how to go?
Coz’ then the pricing shackles
And the parent tackles
(With the problems of the hows and whens)
And they can see no reasons
‘Cos there are no reasons
What reason do you need to go, go?
Oh Oh Oh

Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like
I don’t like (Tell me why)
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like
I don’t like (Tell me why)
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
I wanna shoo-oo-oo-woo-woo-woot the whole night down

Leave a Reply

